Early Years Foundation Stage

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Statutory Framework is the framework that all early years providers must use and it sets standards for the learning, development and care of children from birth to 5 years old.

It promotes teaching and learning through play to make sure all children have the skills for future life. I will support learning in the following seven areas of learning and development stated in the EYFS:

Prime areas:

1. Communication and language

2. Physical development

3. Personal, social and emotional development

Specific areas

4. Literacy

5. Mathematics

6. Understanding the world

7. Expressive arts and design

I will use my role as your child’s key person to plan fun and stimulating activities which will follow their interests and stage of development to ensure that each individual child’s needs are met and they are supported to reach their full potential.

How can I find out more?

Click here to view the Statutory 2014 Framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage on the Department for Education website.

Click here to view the Parents’ Guide to the Early Years Foundation Stage Framework.